Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

People have different opinions on allowing offspring to decide their own wills. In my opinion, I believe it is better for kids if adults make decisions on big matters for them. First of all, it is worthwhile to be independent in terms of personal matters. Having autonomy in thoughts and actions may help adolescents become conscious of responsibilities. For example, schools in South America allow their students to choose the class they take. In this way, kids will be concentrating more on classes and have more interest. Therefore, it helps them know how to arrange a time for doing things on their own. Also, being an autonomous individual partly facilitates furnishing children with the problem-solving skill for their future life as adults. When getting involved in matters affecting them, youngsters could be in the face of problems, which forces them to follow with them and find out the appropriate solutions. However, autonomy at an early age for kids has a potential risk of making them become victims of their selfishness. Indeed, the more attention they pay to personal interests including likes and dislikes, the more irrational decisions they could make in the long run. In the worst cases, they might be considered to be humans who do not care about the world in the eyes of people. For instance, evidence showed that most criminals and unemployed ones are due to autonomy causing less social experience. Lack of experience because of not reaching puberty and adolescence is the main reason for that. In conclusion, although allowing them to make their own opinions can help them know how to arrange the time, we still should help children to make the decision about issues affecting them.