The increase in people’s life expectancy means that they have to work older to pay for their retirement. One alternative is that people start to work at a younger age. Is this alternative a positive or negative development?

Besides working until an older age in order to pay for their retirement, there is an alternative which is starting to work at a younger time. This essay will discuss the advantages and drawbacks of this viewpoint and my perspective will be illustrated in the conclusion. On the one hand, it is obvious that there are consequences when decreasing the lowest limit of working age. Firstly, they may not be mature enough both physically and mentally. A good example is forensics, a job that requires people who apply this job is mentally and physically tough. Secondly, along with their maturity, they may also not receive enough structured education for their jobs and to protect themselves. For example, they may not fully understand and know their rights and the laws that protect them when they get a job. On the other hand, there is no doubt that this alternative will have some positive impacts. The foremost is that they can financially support their families or satisfy their retirement needs sooner. Furthermore, the younger age they work, the more energized they are, therefore, providing better performance at workplaces. Finally, with a younger work age, they can contact society sooner. As a result, they receive more social experiences than people who work since the normal work age. In conclusion, although there are negative impacts such as not being mature enough for some specialties and not receiving full education, the advantages of this alternative including satisfying financial needs sooner, better performance, and gaining more life experiences outweigh its consequences.