Because of falling birth rates and better healthcare, the world’s population is getting steadily older and this trend is going to cause serious problems for society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to big changes happening in the world, the amount of procreation is going down, while the healthcare system is improving day-to-day. This phenomenon leads to the ageing of the society and might have a negative impact. I definitely agree with this idea and this essay will discuss the arguments that support my point of view. Nowadays, people choose to keep the birth rates low as life became more challenging daily. From the busy lifestyle to the strict working hours, parents find less time to give to their children and therefore stick to one or two children per family. On the other hand, a noticeable development has been noted in the health industry. The older population benefited from this improvement because a large number of diseases are now curable due to early detection and effective treatment and it led to an increase in the living rate. So what are the damages that might happen due to this trend? First of all, the youth plays a very important role in the society's economic balance as they are the producers and active workers. The decline in their amount leads to an imbalance that will negatively impact the whole population. For instance, the elderly will keep consuming while the resources produced will drop. Secondly, people at a geriatric age become more dependent on their younger children. Nursing homes, for example, are full of grandparents who are in need of care and support, and that also impacts indirectly the economical balance. To recapitulate, it is important to keep a moderate rate of procreation to prevent social problems that might impact the society individually or on a larger scale.