Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a clear tendency for screen time to increase among the younger generation. While this is an expected consequence of general cyberization, it can be very harmful to a child's development for a couple of reasons. On the one hand, the popularity and accessibility of modern gadgets which can be clearly seen while analyzing the age when children get their first one is a part of evolution. Nowadays, even at the age of 2-3 years, a kid can be provided with his own tablet. It helps them with getting used to and understanding how technologies work, so in adult life, they can move to more complex mechanisms, while smartphones, laptops, or tablets using are already basic knowledge to them. For example, I can see a drastic difference between me and my brother, who is 6 years younger than me, mainly because I started to use computers and cell phones in my teenage period, while he was using laptops before he learned how to walk. So, nowadays he is more open-minded to all new gadgets and understands the basics of programming without even studying it, while for me it seems challenging sometimes. On the other hand, the trend of using smartphones and tablets from the beginning of life can have a harmful effect on a human ad its development. Mainly because parents can leave unattended the question of restrictions regarding time or some specific sources of information. Moreover, even with the control of grown-ups, content on the Internet is too simplified, so the child is getting used to short and non-sophisticated information. For instance, when I am communicating with younger people I have a general feeling that it is impossible to catch their attention for more than 30 seconds because they have a habit of switching between sources of information if they are not instantly amused during the first seconds. To sum up, the trend of youngsters glued to their gadgets is an inevitable part of technology development. However, it has hazardous effects on children, so the question of screen time needs to be attended to by adults responsible for the well-being of their offspring.