Some people think that the benefit of running a small business is to employ family members. What are the advantages and disadvantages of running a family business?

In recent years, the question of whether family businesses gain from hiring relatives has been widely debated. While some people contend that this trend offers more than it takes, I firmly disagree with this statement. Even though running a family business has several merits, they do not overshadow the drawbacks. On the one hand, a primary benefit of recruiting a family member in business is gaining efficient training as a head start. Entering the job market is difficult for beginners, but family-owned firms make it easier for relatives to acquire the essential skills and experience. For example, large corporations, such as Apple, Samsung, and Walmart, hire their family members, improving their skills significantly while raising their companies' revenue. Moreover, another significant factor is the fact that employing relatives in privately owned companies increases not only productivity but also creativity, since relatives are more likely to provide all their abilities to gain more returns. On the other hand, a family-owned business can create inequity among employees. There is a higher chance that running a family business can disrupt decision-making when choosing who to promote. If there were a higher-ranking position that everyone competes for, the company president is most likely to give it to a family member rather than to a worker who is more competent, leading to frustrated and unproductive staff. Furthermore, a family enterprise can create dependency on the family, which reduces self-reliance and personal development. For instance, research published in the Global Economy Journal reported that less than one-third of family businesses could manage succession to the second generation, due to conflicts resulting from family ties. To conclude, although family-owned companies offer certain advantages, I am convinced that the disadvantages far outweigh their benefits. Injustice and stagnation can occur when prioritising family members over more competent employees.