Some people believe that government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individual should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include example from your own experience.

Although it is sometimes thought that old people after getting retired should be aided financially by the government, whilst other people have a notion that money should be saved by the person himself during their working period. In my opinion, I consider that by saving money from the beginning of their career, old people would not have a dependency on others, hence, they can enjoy their post-retirement life. On one hand, it is often believed that government should provide financial assistance to senior citizens because they have contributed much to the betterment of the country when they were young. In other words, old people had paid taxes throughout their working life, therefore, it is now the government ’s responsibility to look after them when they reach their old age and are no longer in a condition to earn money. For example, in Singapore, people, when entered to the age of sixties, their government provides them with the monthly stipulated amount. In this way, old people there, have a relaxed life after retirement. On the other hand, some people think that young people ought to save a certain amount of money from their monthly income in order to avoid dependency on others and enjoy their old age. Because, family or government could only fulfil basic needs for a limited time, also, it would be unethical to rely totally on them. For example, my grandparents opened a joint account after they got married, in which they both used to deposit a certain amount of money from their monthly income. Now, after,retirement they are not living an independent life but also, they are enjoying their life by travelling to places and doing whatever they desire. To conclude, despite people having different opinions regarding the financial responsibility of old people. I personally reckon that young people should aid their own retirement in order to lead an independent life of one’s own choice