These days, more and more people prefer to use share transport such as buses, trams or carsharing applications on their smartphones rather than driving their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Shared rides have been becoming popular nowadays, especially among those who often take public transport. But this trend has been growing even on the people having their own vehicles. This essay will present both benefits and drawbacks of preferring shared transport schemes and reach to a conclusive opinion. On the one hand, using a shared ride possesses various benefits. First of all, the number of private vehicles on the road is reduced, in turn mitigating traffic congestion. When more people prefer using carsharing options, two or three people use the same car for travelling to their jobs, thus reducing the number of cars on the road. For an instance, if three people travel on a common vehicle, the number of cars that would have been 3 on the road now becomes only one. So, traffic congestion can decrease by three folds because of ridesharing. Another advantage is that the cost of travel decreases. The expense of one car is shared by the number of people using it, so the cost of fuel and travel for each person is reduced significantly. For example, travelling six times a week from home to work 5 miles away would cost a person $60 on his own but it is now reduced to $25 because of shared ride. On the other hand, using shared transport might have a disadvantage that it would take longer time for people to reach their destination. There will be more stoppages along the way so the journey time increases. For example, if I had three people on my car travelling to work, I would have to first drop other two people, take money from them and then return to another route. This increases the duration of my travel and it would take longer time for me to reach my desired point. In conclusion, I think that despite taking a longer time to travel, the benefits of carsharing options like its low cost and reduction in traffic jams, cannot be overlooked