Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. Do you agree or disagree?

We can see that nowadays, many big cities have to deal with the lack of housing for residents. In order to solve this problem, some local authorities suppose that the area of parks should be removed to make room for residential growth. I am totally not convinced with this opinion. This essay will point out the reason why I disagree with it. The first reason is that this activity has adverse impacts on the life quality of city-dwellers. First, it can lead to health problems. Increasing the area of residents will result in the phenomenon of overpopulation which causes air and noise pollution. Therefore, citizens suffer from the consequences of respiratory diseases. Moreover, many citizens did not have the chance to use essential services. If a city has a huge number of people, it will put a burden on public infrastructures such as hospitals, schools, and transportations, especially parks which are one of the main entertainment sites of people. For example, Beijing has been suffering from overload due to having a lot of apartments, and thus many children do not have a room for schools. In addition, reassigning parks is not a good solution to resolve the housing crisis. It means that the government should bring and carry out other policies such as encouraging people in cities to turn into the countryside. For instance, by attracting investments into the rural area, governments can contribute to creating more employment opportunities, so people will be motivated to move away from crowded cities. In conclusion, from my perspective, I fully disagree with the replacement of parks for the purpose of residents because of its negative effects on city-dwellers. Moreover, we have a lot of better ways to improve this phenomenon rather than demolish parks. Finally, the main responsibility of authorities is to seek a solution which ensures the quality of people ’s life as well as deal with this problem.