Some people believe that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams always succeed in sports. Others think that success in sports depends on mental attitudes. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Being strong and mentally healthy is mandatory for a sports unit to succeed. These two attitudes are like the wings of a sportsperson: A team or individual player cannot be successful without having one. Below, there are two main ideas about this subject. Much of the sports fields are team ones. In a team, members can complete each other. There are teams with diverse members: some excelling at being strong and fit, and some excelling at mental attitudes. Usually, these kinds of groups are successful ones. For example, a team captain must have leadership skills, and being a good leader is directly related to mental attitudes. On the other hand, the same team needs members physically strong to win a game. In individual sports, things are a bit different. Here, there is no team with whom to be completed. One should have both mental and physical strength to be a successful individual athlete. For instance, a mentally healthy runner will never be successful if she does not have an appropriate body. In the same way, a physically gifted person may not be a good athlete if she does not have a clear mind ready to practice hard. In conclusion, the attitudes needed for being a sports champion vary by type of sport. In a team, the overall unit should have both perspectives, while every individual can contribute to only one of those perspectives. In contrast, for individual sports, every athlete should have a bit of both mental and physical strength. The formula for being successful in sports is a combination of both these aspects.