When people learn a foreign language, all four skills (listening, speaking, reading and writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sad that all four skills are given equal importance. Although listening, reading and writing can be mastered by consistent exposure in those areas through watching movies or reading news or by practising writing, speaking needs an actual interaction with native speakers to excel in it. Personally, I think that these skills should not be judged equally until a person lives in a foreign land. Firstly, the trend of migrating to a foreign country is been increasing over the years. For this, the requirement of a language test has become a significant part of order to apply to a university or for a job. It is considered to learn a foreign vocabulary before entering the country so that communication gaps can be filled. A perfect example of this is a Duolingo English Test, which has become popular recently during the corona pandemic lockdown. Thus, taking a speech exam prior to landing in an unfamiliar nation is essential. However, there are a few obstacles which non-native speakers face. It is a fact that despite putting a lot of effort into achieving a certain level to get hands-on distinct dialects, it is time-consuming. In addition, speaking is such expertise that one needs to have an in-person conversation with an indigenous individual to excel in it. Other abilities such as reading, listening and writing can be attained by consistent practice but speaking specifically requires to have daily dialect with someone. For instance, according to the report of the national language centre, 70% of students take exams twice so as to get the expected results. Therefore, it takes time to grasp a distinct idiom. To sum up, I would say looking at the fact of precious time, speaking can be given less importance while taking tests as later when a person arrives an unusual nation is likely to accomplish it.