THE FOREST AND THE NEED TO PRESERVE IT. WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT THAT?

Nowadays, green spaces and forests are being removed in order to expand cities. This phenomenon is becoming more popular than it used to be, which, in my opinion, is impacting our planet in a negative way. So what are the reasons why we should preserve the earth's lungs? First of all, we were taught from an early age that forests play an important role in cleansing the air through a process called photosynthesis, which consists of transforming mostly carbon dioxide and water into oxygen. By cutting trees, we minimize the amount of chemical energy that is being produced and therefore contribute to the pollution of planet earth. For instance, big cities with minimal green areas, like New York or Hong Kong, are the most polluted and have the highest percentage of respiratory diseases in their populations. Secondly, forests represent the natural habitat for many wild animals. Taking the Amazon's jungle as an example, it contains an important amount of tropical creatures, such as Koalas and Kangaroos, that are dying because of human damage. By preserving these green locations, we contribute to lowering their rate of extinction and therefore keep nature balanced. To summarize, it is crucial to preserve the remaining green spaces on our planet and try to minimize the damage that has already been done. By planting more trees and protecting them, we are preserving the earth for future generations.