n numerous nations, there is a growing trend for individuals to frequently discuss financial matters, such as their earnings or expenditures, in everyday conversation. What are the reasons behind this phenomenon? Is it advantageous or detrimental?

There is an increasing tendency for individuals in the modern world to openly discuss their finances in daily conversation. In my opinion, this is a result of a general lack of self-awareness and is decidedly negative given the opportunity cost it engenders. The primary reason many people today are prone to talk about their financial dealings originates in society generally. In the past, a sense of modesty or concern for decorum might have compelled reticence. Today, some of the most widely discussed topics in the media, online, in film, and in literature concern cryptocurrencies, the real estate market, stock equities, the price of gold, and other investments. A person discussing these matters is likely only interested in subtle boasting or venting frustrations without awareness of the emotions or engagement of their interlocutor. The result over time has been that many people have developed a shameless habit. In my view, discussion finances often precludes a number of more worthwhile topics of conversation. Since the majority of useful financial research can be conducted online or done in professional settings, there are more pressing areas that should be discussed in daily life. For example, two friends having a conversation at a cafe would derive greater value from telling stories, joking with one another, or delving into a more serious topic related to politics, the arts, or psychology. Such discussions are likely to develop their understanding of the world and their emotional intelligence. Discussion of money, on the other hand, wastes valuable time and energy for little concrete outcome. In conclusion, the inclination to speak of one’s personal finances stems from a fundamentally modern self-indulgence and often prevents the discussion of more enjoyable or meaningful topics. Naturally, these generalizations do not apply to all individuals.