More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Many people argue that more people are moving to urban areas in obtaining a better life. Although it may be true at some points, it can be very challenging for them, especially in getting a promising career and managing a high standard of living. However, there are some solutions that the government can take that will be discussed further in the following paragraph. First off, it can be challenging to discover employment prospects in cities. This is due to the intense rivalry in the labour market caused by human migration. There are many applications, and they are more effective in transferring knowledge, skills, and credentials than people are. As a result, individuals are unable to find employment, which may lead to higher unemployment rates. Second, city living is more expensive than it is in rural places. For instance, low-income individuals must live in substandard dwellings in slums because they lack the funds to pay for housing, transportation, and food. To provide individuals with the possibility to live better lives, the government should take action to measure these issues. First, the poor can benefit from lower living expenses if the government invests more in the infrastructure of affordable and social housing. At the same time, providing more vacancies that offer decent pay would be very much helpful for those who are migrated from outside of the city. As an illustration, in one of the cities in Indonesia, the mayor facilitates those migrated citizens from the village to work in the farming area in the city with a sufficient wage. Thus, this will not only solve the major problem of poverty but also help the people to optimize their potential through some work that they are capable of, as well as giving them sufficient credits. To sum up, migrating introduces a lot of incredibly challenging factors to the city, both material and immaterial. Governments could, however, take a number of steps to address these issues as explained above.