Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way of punishments has changed through time. Imprisonment has been a procedure to treat criminals for decades, even though educating the offenders could be an alternative. I believe that educating people at some points, has an important role in the criminal justice system. In this essay, I will give some arguments to support my ideas. There are two reasons why I partly concur to provide outlaws with education rather than send them to jail. One main cause of crime is poverty, unemployment, and lack of education. If the outlaws can get educated in a specific field, they will have a chance to apply for jobs. While employment gives a way out of poverty, it also gives them a structured day, which helps them as well. Furthermore, social education also helps them to get out of their old behaviour and pattern which also leads often to reoffending. On the other hand, convicting people to jail sentences is the only way. Many outlaws are offenders of the duty of the law to protect the innocent, the society. Crime profilers have discovered that for,instance serial killer has certain patterns. Rather than release them after their prison doctors should treat them in psychological facilities Otherwise there is a high chance, that they will convict murderers again. Is imprisonment the only way to fight crime? Overall, it depends on the crime. In petty,crimes education can be a great way to help to become better humans. Anyway, in some cases locking the offenders away is the only way.