Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that product promotion only focuses on useless goods and makes customers purchase them as much as possible. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this point of view. I list three main reasons to support my point below. With the development of modern science and technology, shopping platforms are able to know the consumption habits of their consumers accurately by using cutting-edge techniques, such as big data analysing. In the cucirmstance, companies have access to the preference of their clients and then market the appropriate products to their consumers efficiently. Moreover, in order to attract more consumers, many brands and companies are willing to provide various return and trial services. For example, In China, the majority of both online and offline shops offer a so-called "7-day return" service that means that people can return the products without any reason within 7 days and get all their money back. this trend can dramatically reduce the risk of impulse consumption. Lastly, from a personal perspective, I think most people are already used to the false advertising and exaggerated information in commercial adverts, they will not pay the money easily just after watching an advertisement. Take me for example, I will search the similar products which I am interested in after seeing the promotion of a new product. In conclusion, although there are countless advertisements in our life, nowadays people rarely make a purchase without thinking twice after watching commercial adverts, because most of us only consider them as a means to know new products.