Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important to be shared freely?

Although many individuals believe that it is advantageous for businesses to allow unfettered access to their data, I agree that business-related secrets should not be published publicly since this may result in underperformance owing to a loss of competitive advantage. On the one hand, proponents of distributing as much information as possible feel that transparency fosters trust, passion, and teamwork in the workplace. They argue that open innovation enables organizations to access external resources, such as advice, viewpoints, and collective intelligence, hence accelerating project development. For example, Toyota and Tesla's relationship in the early phases of electronic vehicle development allowed both manufacturers to share information and experience, fostering innovation and acceptance of self-driving vehicles in the automobile industry. On the other hand, it is more reasonable to claim that some research should be restricted to the public, as the current market is more cutthroat than ever before, and the idea of sharing information can cost businesses a competitive position. Similarly, if a startup happens to leak private data, its competitors can replicate, exploit, and make a profit out of its product. For instance, big agencies in the food and beverage industry, namely Coca-Cola and KFC, tend to impose strict regulations to protect their recipes such as limiting the number of employees knowing the formula, or implementing tight access controls. Consequently, I agree with the view of protecting research as mentioned above. In conclusion, while some think that informational transparency is crucial in many domains, I think it is vital that a company maintain its trade secrets for the benefit of its success and development.