Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

A few authorities demand their employees to be in touch at any time, regardless their day of rest. Although company will pay you more for the extra time and effort, I believe, disadvantages outweigh advantages that, the leisure time with family gets reduced and employees will be more frustrated. To begin with, the administration may offer more pay to their team to make them available on particular situations. This will help the employee to earn more and to lead a life with high standards. For example: In United Kingdom, the organization provides performance incentives to those crew who are ready to pick up their officials’ call at any cost. Even though it may increase the rapport between them, I believe that its disadvantages stand high. Subsequently, frequent calls and enquiries will lead the staffs to become irritated. As a result, their concentration towards the work reduces and will reflect the outcome in an opposite manner. Also, the team members will have only less time to spend with their family. Their children will definitely miss the time playing with their parents at the park, a film together and all. For instance: The study at Harvard University by a group of research fellows reveals that, the amount of time each worker contribute to their organization is inversely proportional to the moments with their loved ones. Consequently, the divorce rates are increasing rapidly. Hence, I believe that being responsive to employers at any time, has more demerits. In conclusion, I reckon that drawbacks like less family time and frustration outweighs the merits like more pay in a scenario where the higher officials need their subordinates to be available upon a ring, despite of their leave days.