“Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?”

The role of public libraries in educating the communities is quite critical. Some argue that publicly funded library resources should only be used in giving paper printed books instead of purchasing digital media like electronic DVDs, for providing information. In my opinion, I firmly believe that government should fund these places so that they can provide not only conventional books but also up-to-date materials for the benefit of society. Several advantages of providing new sources of information to individuals are clear. One of them is that the latest research is mostly available now in the form of digital means. If students or research scholars want to update them, they will need to review new computer programs. For instance, James' web telescope is totally programmed in a new computer language and this information is totally available in the form of software. It is, therefore, important to have these resources in libraries so people could get benefit from them. However, it is argued that places for the public to read and research have a minor financial budget so they must not be burdened in terms of buying Cds and DVDs. Because books are generally not too much expensive, even small set-ups can buy and place on shelves. Despite these concerns being valid, books can only be read by one person at one time compared to software that can be installed by anyone. In addition, traditional books become damaged with the passage of time which is not the case with information inside the computer. Thus, it is more reliable to keep information in the form of digital media. In conclusion, I agree entirely with the view that with the help of concerning authorities, libraries can afford to keep electronic resources. Access to online information has obvious advantages which are far more significant than dealing with printed media only.