The aging population is good for business, the economy and society. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some people, including me, older adults are proving an asset to the country’s economic growth, societal upliftment and running a successful business owing to their dedication, skills and experience while some still believe that having them affects the productivity levels at work. Since the ageing adults prefer to work till they die, this keeps them active and healthy, and hence, puts less burden on the government to support their health. According to a recent study, the Australian government’s investment in the medical sector for elderly people is 2% less than what is required for other age groups. Moreover, elderly people ’s lifelong experience is bliss for the younger generation which helps them in dealing with complex problems in a more sophisticated way by keeping patience and being dedicated to the task. However, due to the age factor, it is not possible for elderly people to work continuously without taking a break after every one or two hours, which in turn, affects the productivity levels forcing the organisation to hire more people to fill the void. Furthermore, though they have years of experience, it is usually out of date and is of little use to the current generation who need to learn how to employ modern technologies such as computers and lasers. In conclusion, although the elderly population’s experience is of little use and age is a hindrance to the path of productivity limits, I believe that older individuals are healthier than their counterparts in generations past which keeps them dedicated and engaged for as long as possible.