Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

Nowadays it is common for riders and drivers to travel on the same road and cyclists have to obey all the same rules, which has led to the high cyclist fatalities rate every year. Fortunately, there are some effective measures that can be carried out to mitigate the unpleasant situation. To commence, vehicular cycling is not only extremely dangerous for bikers but produces some inconveniences for car drivers as well. The only way for cyclists to coexist safely with drivers is to behave the same way as cars do. They have to travel at a pretty fast clip and look over their shoulder when changing lanes or turning to make sure that they do not cut anyone off. Besides, it is actually dangerous for bikers to hug the right side of the lane because that could lead to cars trying to squeeze by at uncomfortably close distances. To illustrate, the Centers Disease Control and Prevention's injury statistic Web site reports that there were 902 cyclist fatalities and 35 206 serious cyclist injuries in the United States in 2014. Moreover, sharing the same lane with bikers is an uncomfortable experience for drivers as they have to make remarkable concessions which means that they can not use the maximum speed even when they are in urgent situations. However, this dilemma can be solved by implementing the right policies and the national governments play a vital role in improving the safety of cyclists and the comfort of car drivers. One of the most effective ways is for the government to invest in constructing bike-specific facilities like separated and protected lanes rather than retrofitting a car-centric road system to cram in a few bikes. Danish cities, for example, have an extensive system of on-road bicycle lanes and off-road bicycle paths, including priority traffic signs and advance stop lines for bikers at intersections. Moreover, national and local authorities should be focusing on building specialised infrastructure so that bikes and cars do not have to mingle such as paralleling roads in city centres so car drivers and bikers can travel at their own speed without bothering each other. In conclusion, although using the same route results in high mortalities among cyclists and irritation among drivers, there are some steps that can be taken to better the circumstances