Some say that the most important thing about being rich is that one has the opportunity to help others. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an age when economic success is easily achievable, a number of businessmen had acquired a larger sum of property and some claimed that the most significant thing for the wealthy is to offer assistance to those in need. As far as I am concerned, people should do whatever makes them happy rather than obey morality. Admittedly, it is a moral obligation for the rich groups to provide financial support to people who live in poor and disadvantaged situations. As is reported, over a billion people are still living in abject poverty and each year over six million children die as a result of malnutrition. However, the cost of a dinner in a luxury restaurant for millionaires may be equal to several years’ living expenses for the poor. Therefore, it seems reasonable and sensible for them to donate money and goods to charity. However, I do not contend such practice is a vital thing for being rich. The most rooted reason is that they are entitled to allocate their wealth. In addition, it is the government that should place a high priority on fighting hunger and poverty. Financial aid, a sound welfare system and sufficient employment opportunities are all supposed to be provided to counteract this recurring problem. If the authority only relies on the efforts of the rich, this potential threat to social stability will not be fundamentally removed. In conclusion, although helping citizens is an indispensable duty for the wealthy, it is not the most important. Instead, the state should formulate policies and feasible strategies to build up a wealthy and prosperous society.