17. We should introduce laws to make businesses and state services employ equal numbers of male and female workers in every department or area of the company. How far do you support this idea? Give reasons for your answer, and support your essay with ideas and examples from your own experience.

There is discussion in support of writing the law to employ an equal number of male and female workers in any type of work. I quite support this statement. The following reasons and examples will be explained below. First, It is true that nowadays some jobs require a specific gender to get the work done such as the military sector which regularly requires a stronger physical body in a man than a woman. For example, a New York Times poll revealed that 80 per cent of female contestants applying for soldier school were rejected instantly at the pre-screening round before making an interview. Furthermore, there is a wrong belief that some sexes are not suitable for some careers due to the old mindset of elderly people such as engineers. On the other hand, how individuals can get one job should be considered in many aspects without gender bias because each person has their own outstanding talents. Hence, introducing the laws about sex equality of applying the job should be done. For example, in 1990 the British government wrote the official statement that the ladies are allowed to work outside freely as well as the gentlemen. In addition, during an economic recession, many families need to increase their income for expenditure in daily life. Most of the parents have to work more than 1 job to support their children. To conclude, the misunderstanding and unfair conduct led to the decrease in the number of women in the companies. Reinforcement of the law about hiring a similar amount of male and female officers should be performed properly to find the right ones for the duties and support the financial status of each home.