Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Throughout history, most careers have had a specific workplace, out of the workers' houses. Today, being self-employed is controversial. This article expresses probable causes and unfavourable results of this newly emerged work style. The reasons each individual prefers self-employment differ from person to person. One can be the natural tendency of human beings to avoid being controlled by others. In other words, they want to be their own bosses. To an extent, it is rational to claim that had this psychological trait not existed in the core values of humankind, slavery would not be prohibited today. Therefore, it is predictable that people move toward working for themselves whenever possible. Also, a more specific personality feature can play a role in this regard, being shy. The humanity, and the communities he lives in, are mainly based on socializing and collaboration. While this is a trend among the societies, some inhabitants of these societies could be found to avoid communication with others, as it is unfavourable to them; and they see this new method of working as a way of protecting themselves. While exploring the detrimental effects of this working style, the lack of expected social skills in adults can be noticed. Living in a gregarious community, the ability to contact others might be crucial. When today's individual fails to improve such capabilities by connecting with others, it is expected to see communicational issues in societies of the near future. In conclusion, the reasons for the attraction of this working model could be found in the psychological aspects of human behaviour. One of the most outstanding damages can be improper communication in everyday life.