In recent times, many people have focused on the adverse effects advertising has on children’s health, behaviour and family relationships. Advertising to children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree

A common opinion is that commercials are harmless to their viewers. Despite that, it is often believed that adverts harm young people’s well-being, actions and family dynamics. Therefore, advertisements directed at young audiences should be prohibited. I believe this is entirely true due to the pressure faced by parents, unhealthy eating habits and unwanted behaviours. Advertisements can often encourage unhealthy eating. Adverts nowadays are very prone to promoting instant food. Consequently, children will be attracted to consuming these poorly nourished foods, increasing the number of obese children. For example, McDonald’s ads stimulate children to eat fast food by adding toys together with their food. Thus, we see the younger generation being enticed to consume these types of food to have the gifts that come with it. Whilst some may argue that giving toys with meals can be beneficial in encouraging children to eat, this eventually results in pressure on parents to comply with their children and causes children to consume an unbalanced diet. In addition, commercials in media are not as safe as we think. These ads might affect children ’s behaviour by causing impulsive acts and yearning for instant gratification to obtain the things being promoted. In particular, ads promoting the latest expensive toy would entice children and have the potential to create unwanted tantrums if their wants are not fulfilled by their parents, leaving parents helpless and desperate. As a result, such enticement may end in an undesirable situation and leave an unhealthy outcome for both parents and their offspring. In conclusion, I believe that advertisements for children lead to many bad outcomes. Left uncontrolled, it may cause detrimental effects on our future generation.