Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that marriage should be legal only after the 21st birthday. I firmly disagree with the said viewpoint as I believe that marriage should be a free personal choice. Furthermore, an older marriage age wouldn ' t solve any problems. In this essay, I will try to explain my point of view. First of all, the main argument, why matrimony should be legal for all adults, is that marriage is an act of love between two individuals. Therefore, since marriage cannot do any possible harm to society or the public as a whole, the legal age shouldn' t be a question for the public to decide. To give a clear example, there is no legal age to have children, even though this action would involve not only two consensual persons, but a newborn and the government, helping with child money and education, as well. Hence, if actions such as childbearing, involving more than two people, are not regulated, neither should matrimony, involving only two loving individuals. Moreover, the change of the legal marriage age wouldn ' t be able to solve the problems it is aiming to. This is due to the fact that a large part of the youth in their 20s are not mature and experienced enough, thus the number of situations of marrying and breaking up in a few months period wouldn ' t be reduced greatly. Nevertheless, even if the rate could be reduced, what is unlikely, trying to do so shouldn' t be a government's prerogative, as it has been discussed in the previous paragraph. To conclude, I believe that the time for marriage should be a choice for a couple alone because the government's input wouldn ' t be efficient. Besides, society wouldn ' t feel any consequences even in the case of a bad marriage.