Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recyle more of their waste?

A large amount of domestic waste is produced daily in households, however not enough of it is recycled. It is thought that the only possible way to risen the recycling rate is by creating law requirements that would force the population to do so, however, in my point of view, I partially agree with this idea but I think that there are other ways to promote recycling within people as well. First of all, putting legal obligations might be effective by forcing individuals to participate in sorting their waste into plastic, paper, glass and food trash. Doing this does not only facilitate the process of recycling but helps cleaning employees in the separation of domestic waste as well. Moreover, making recycling an obligation also helps decrease the percentage of pollution around the world. For instance, the countries with the highest rates of recycling have the lowest ones in pollution. However, this is not the only option available to make people recycle more of their misuse. Teaching the population the benefits while making them more autonomous also contributes to increasing the amount of recycling done by promotion commercials and publicity on the most commonly used social media platforms, for example, to reach a maximum number of individuals. Furthermore, encouraging the use of glass and recyclable materials instead of plastic might as well have a positive impact in the long run. To summarize, there are multiple ways to motivate people to reuse their waste. From strict laws to more flexible ones like teaching society how to be autonomous, it all contributes to keeping the earth clean and preserved for upcoming generations.