When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is true that first impressions affect our subsequent interactions with people. However, there are several reasons that I believe our rapid judgment is not always accurate and we should get to know people better before jumping to a conclusion. I believe it is not a good idea to judge people based on their appearance and it just reveals a glimpse of someone's personality and wealth. Everyone has different tastes in fashion and sometimes people can not afford luxurious items of clothing, so labelling people based on these metrics is irrational. Beauty is another aspect that does not reveal someone’s inner personality, but we usually consider this factor. For example, attractive and lighter-skinned criminals often get less harsh sentences which is not fair. Another factor that we judge people based on, is how people behave in the first meeting. People usually conceal their true selves in the first meeting and they usually show their positive sides. For example, based on my personal experience someone who makes friends easily usually is not serious about long-term relationships. On the contrary introverted people usually have a heart of gold and they are more serious about their friendships. In addition, sometimes a personal crisis is going on and people can not get along well with each other. I remember a job interview that I had a few months ago and I was stressed and anxious. The employee just judged me in fifteen minutes and they did not consider my application while I was qualified for the role. In conclusion, I believe that judging each other based on initial impressions is not a solid testament and we can not understand somebody’s true colour until we do long-term observations.