Some people think living in a big city is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The migration of men from rural settlements to big cities, for better opportunities, has been as old as mankind. However, Its effects have  raised some concerns as a fraction of  citizens believed it negatively affects their health. I strongly agree with this claim as urbanisation could lead to mental disorders as well as increased incidence of diseases. To begin with, the urban settlement has been linked with poor housing conditions which could negatively affect one’s mental health. To clarify, people living in slums are faced with a myriad of problems ranging from low self-esteem to socioeconomic bullying which could result in depression. To illustrate, a study by the psychiatric society of Nigeria cited poor housing as a major factor in depression. Hence, inappropriate living conditions could cause an increased number of mental disorders. Conversely, it is true that there are better job opportunities in the cities compared to rural settlements. This is because of the establishment of big industries that require the expertise of skilled individuals. Nevertheless,  these industries contribute to city pollution by disposing waste into the sea, air and land. For instance, there has been an increase in the number of patients with lung diseases in the southern area of Nigeria due to the increased amount of soot produced by the oil refineries. Thus, inhaling such waste had caused an increased incidence of lung disease in that area. In conclusion, living in the city has a negative impact on the health  of the citizens as it is linked with pollution as well as poor housing conditions.