In some cultures,children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

It is an undeniable fact that hard work breeds success. In certain cultures, young ones are often advised that they can be successful in any endeavour provided that they are hardworking. Although this message acts as motivation for them,they can be faced with mental health issues if they fail to achieve their desired aspiration. On the one hand,children are motivated by things they see and listen to,encouraging them to be the best in what they do breeds confidence in themselves to achieve anything they want to. This also builds the spirit of resilience and perseverance in them, therefore they see no obstacle as insurmountable. For instance,a child participating in a field race is always cheered to keep running and put in more effort,even when the child falls,he quickly picks himself up and continues the race till the finish line as a result of several propelling words to try hard and not give up. On the other hand,a child may not understand the extent and depth of these words and thus perceives himself as a failure if his goals are not attained this situation builds up anxiety for the child and depression may also follow. For example,research has proven that about 30% of minors suffer one or two mental health health-related issues after failing at the end of their school session. This is because parents and guardians are often tempted to be hard on their wards or kids and push them beyond their limit without proper counsel and guidance leaving their children scarred for life. In conclusion,in as much as these words stir up so much confidence in children,it should be done with caution as it could leave some negative impact on the psychological state of the child