More and more people are using computers and electronic devices to access information, therefore there is no need for printed books, magazines and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As technology has evolved in the past years, it is now possible for people to stay informed through multimedia devices rather than conventional ones such as books and newspapers. In this essay, I will argue that in my opinion, there is no need anymore for information paper printed material. To begin with, the access to information given by electronic devices is greater as well as more accurate. For instance, during the Covid pandemic, in Quebec, the press was releasing crucial information on their phone application everyday at 11am after the prime minister press point. This information was then relayed in the next day newspaper, which means that by the time it was read, it was already obsolete. Moreover, when a mistake is made in the facts transmitted, it is easier and quicker to correct it on electronic devices as there is no need to print a new copy of the magazine or book. In addition, conventional devices are contributing to pollution and environmental problems. The fabrication of paper printed copies requires a huge amount of natural resources and energy. Indeed, trees are cut down everyday in order to produce paper, which contributes to deforestation as well as climatic changes. Even though an increasing number of books are now made from recycled paper, this process is using chemicals, thus is not being carbon neutral. Also, while electronics have a long lasting lifetime, magazines and newspapers are usually only read once before they are discarded, therefore expanding the wastage issue. In conclusion, as people will augment the use of their electronic devices to access information, they will realize their superiority over books, magazines and newspapers, therefore these will no longer be necessary.