In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that no one would purchase printed books or newspapers in the future since online resources are free and more variable. Personally, I agree with this to some extent. However, I think that paper-based materials would still be essential on some occasions. What’s more, some online articles charge fees for people to read as well. On the one hand, the vast majority of the public consider online documents to be more convenient and easier to carry around. Consequently, ebooks or tablets became more prevalent. For instance, most college students in Taiwan use iPad to take notes and read textbooks. Digital materials are usually free while sometimes the original books are unaffordable for students. Additionally, online information can be updated really quickly. If people want to keep up with the latest news, waiting for the newspaper headlines of the other day would be definitely not fast enough. From my perspective, printed books and newspapers will gradually die out in this regard. On the other hand, although digital passages are more accessible for some people, there are still some reasons why printed materials are still needed. Firstly, elderly people tend to rely on actual books and newspapers more. The reason being is that they are not familiar with advanced technologies, and they might not know how to read online sources. Secondly, fake news and false information are very common owing to the accessibility of the Internet. People would believe in misinformation online without knowing if it comes from the horse’s mouth. As opposed to actual books, often revised and examined by people before publishing, are more reliable. In conclusion, I agree that the advent of the Internet has changed the ways people live their lives. More and more people opt for reading things online. However, there are still some drawbacks to online resources. Also, many articles online still charge, such as journal articles written by specialists. The public would still need to pay for some specific materials.