some people think that hosting an international sporting event is beneficial for a country while others disagree. Do the advantages of hosting major sporting events outweigh the disadvantages?

Hosting international sporting occasions may bring a range of benefits to the host country ranging from a higher number of visitors to financial income. I think although it seems to be a costly practice along with threatening the security of the community, its benefits far outweigh its damaging impacts. On the one hand, the popularity of international sports competitions worldwide is the best possible advertisement to a substantial number of audiences regarding positive aspects of the host country. In other words, the host country may find the chance to represent a comprehensive image to the viewers by emphasizing their cultural or other equally unique tourist attractions, thereby boosting the number of people willing to visit their country. Another significant factor is the great potential of such events as a liable source of income to the local government. Hosting international events broadcasted in numerous countries, the host country may benefit enormously from advertisements, sponsors, and a vast number of tourists willing to watch competitions from up close. Take tennis grand slams as a salient example; even expensive tickets for the final match will almost be sold out from months earlier. On the other hand, the organization and preparation of such sporting events require a vast sum of money. That is to say, transportation and hosting of visitors and competitors along with providing leading-edge facilities may highlight the need for enough investment of the host country in local infrastructure, leading to a financial deficit if the host country fails to dedicate adequate financial resources. For instance, a software-defined video check system in tennis courts consists of almost 20 cameras, making it a quite expensive facility. Another negative aspect of hosting international events is that many outsiders may stress the risk of any criminal activity in the local community. The unfamiliarity of tourists with the norms of the local country can give rise to any law-breaking behaviors that may threaten the security of residents, most notably young children. To conclude, despite the above compelling arguments, I think the benefits of hosting international outweigh predicaments as the revenue generated cannot be ignored, and this is the best way to familiarize people worldwide with the country ’s virtues.