Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsorily incorporated in secondary education programs.In my opinion, this is an unwise proposal, which carries a lot of serious consequences on the society and citizens. Therefore, I do not agree with this view. Community services play a major role in integrating different layers of the society. It helps in the development of daily activities and because of this reason it should be carried out by qualified persons. Forcing students to be involved in these activities without their permission and willingness will result in a drop in the quality of these activities. For instance, if we forced a talented young musician to provide a service in a rehabilitation house for seniors, this will affect his musical skills enormously. Actually, this proposal reminds me of the forced labour during the forties of the last century, when Germans used individuals from occupied territories to work in their factories. It is inhuman to dictate what people can or cannot do. As we know, students in high schools have a lot of financial burdens. For example, they have to pay their tuition fee. These factors will make it hard for them and their parents to accept the suggested plan. In conclusion, community service should be a voluntary duty left for qualified persons, who intend to do it. Poor students should be paid to offer such service so that they can overcome their financial difficulties.