1. Having police officer patrolling the street is often considered as essential way to reduce crime. How effective do you think police street patrols are? What way reducing crime can you propose?

Nowadays, the public is more concerned about the crime rate due to the community is suffering from high inflation, a high unemployment rate and a recession might possibly occur. Considering police officers patrol the street often could reduce the crime cases. Let me illustrate my perspective in the below paragraph. First of all, considering more policemen patrol the street, which can give more confidence to dwellers or tourists. Spain and Paris are very famous tourist locations. Their authority is aware of tourism is one of the major income sources for their countries. Therefore, they have assigned police officers to patrol streets or metro areas, which can build up a positive image for tourists and society. Thefts might not be willing to take any action as tourists can report to policemen if anything happened. From my perspective, authorities should consider building certain police stations or stands in popular tourist areas or high crime rates areas. It can reduce the misconduct rate gradually, which will force people to reconsider finding a proper job rather than considering robbery from the streets. Moreover, the most effective option to reduce misconduct in society as an authority should consider providing more job opportunities to the public, which can make the community a stable income. During the pandemic, the workforce is struggling to maintain their living standards. Due to the job opportunities being limited, people might be forced to do illegal actions for their living. When people realise that they can fit into the labour market, which would give certain confidence to the workforce to re-enter the labour market instead of considering taking illegal action. Additionally, governments provide an incentive to dwellers, who need to upskill themselves in schools or training centres. Because of the high operation cost, employers prefer to hire their staff with multi-skills that can cope with the competitive markets. People might be forced to be unemployed, which would push them to be robbers as they cannot fit into the labour markets. Thus, authorities need to encourage and provide incentives to their citizens, who are unemployed for a period of time, they should go to training centres to upgrade their skills. In Canada, unemployed people cannot get their unemployment compensation for up to 45 weeks. Because of this, people need to consider working when the compensation has an upper limitation. In conclusion, considering having more law enforcement officers patrol the street is only one of the possible preliminary solutions to solve crime issues. Authority should investigate deeply how to reduce the crime percentage in the long run. Providing incentives and job opportunities should be considered to have long-term solutions that would be beneficial to overall society.