More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reason for this. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, the trend of purchasing well-known brands of vehicles, clothes and other goods has been increasing. This raises the question of why it is happening and how society will be affected. From my perspective, I suppose it will have a negative impact on society. There are many compelling reasons why more and more people are obsessed with owning a famous brand of items. Firstly, Owing to the availability of mass media, people might be unconsciously overwhelmed by commercials which display captivating fashion pieces by touching the smartphone, watching TV or even walking on the street. Therefore, the repetitive slogan and remarkable logo of some famous brands are planted into their brains. Not only young people but also elderly people are the target of advertising agencies. Another explanation is their desire for social acceptance that drives them into buying well reputed and expensive to show off and post their stunning pictures on social media like Facebook, etc, to attract more attention and admiration. Lastly, a famous brand's popularity and high cost are often supposed to associate with the high-qualified items so consumers often flick in to purchase the well-known brands. Nonetheless, I believe this trend is largely detrimental to this country’s tradition and culture. Because a country’s history and customs have a strong tie to the existence of domestically produced goods. If the endless development of world-renowned brands continues, these famous items will expel the locally made products from the commodity market, thus the disappearance of domestic products, leading to an economic crisis in the future. Given the dominance of the internationally famous brands, this will create clothing styles different in poverty and wealth, leading to background discrimination. To summarize, the well-known commodities have a negative influence on domestically made products consumption, society and the economic rate of a country due to excessive advertising.