Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People should stick with science to cure their illnesses. There is a negative new trend of people trying methods other than science-backed medicine. Medicine is developing rapidly, and most of the alternatives are fraud. Below I explain two main reasons why this trend is hurtful. Doctors are graduated, and they are privileged to cure our illnesses. There are strict controls on their quality of work. Their education in universities is reliable and based on scientific methods. In contrast, alternatives are unreliable and may hurt us because these alternatives are from people the government hasn’t any control over. For example, there is a religious medical centre in our country that is strongly suggested not to visit, and this kind of medicine hurts many people. People ’s health is crucial and should be cared for with a method strongly supervised. Any other way than science-backed medicine should be prohibited. Usual science-backed medicine is publicly available worldwide, and we can quickly transfer our medical records to another medical centre. This helps a lot when we want to change our treatment or doctor. In contrast, alternative therapies and medicines are available at a limited scope and can’t be replaced easily. For instance, if there’s a traditional treatment in Iran and an Iranian person wants to immigrate to another country, she will lose track of treatment. Usual medicine has the enormous advantage of being accepted by every nation. In conclusion, the recent development on trying medical alternatives is negative, and there should be some policies to stop it. Usual medicine should be available everywhere. This new trend is probably temporary, and people will avoid it soon.