Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that a considerable proportion of modern women have delayed their parenthood. I would argue that this trend has more advantages than disadvantages. One of the disadvantages of this social trend is that there are serious health risks for the woman during the prenatal and postnatal periods. Women aged 35 or over are more likely to have miscarriages and suffer from gestational diabetes. Another possible drawback is that the possibility of having Down syndrome among babies born by older women is much higher than that of younger ones. The medical treatments for Down syndrome cost a great deal of money which will put older mothers under a lot of strain. Having children at later stages of life has a few limitations which take a toll on mothers ' health and babies' future. There are a lot of reasons why women are reluctant to have children in their 20s including reaching higher education, establishing their career and waiting for the right partner. Hence, although having children later in life will have risks,especially during pregnancy, I consider that the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, women can well provide for the well-being and welfare of their children when they are financially sustainable. As reported in the New York Times Magazine, Australian parents spend more than a quarter (27%) of their household income on each of their children. This demonstrated that children -rearing requires mothers to have an economic stability In conclusion, there are numerous reasons why women decide to build up a family later in their lives and even though having children late sometimes put mothers in danger, this trend has a lot of benefits in terms of the overall development of a child.