SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT CHILDREN SHOULD ONLY READ ACADEMIC BOOKS. OTHERS BELIEVE THAT READING BOOKS FOR PLEASURE IS EQUALLY IMPORTANT. DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Reading is quite important for children since they learn several things from books. They are encouraged to read about it in their school and institutes about academic topics. However, non-academic books should be reeded for pleasure as well. This essay will discuss the importance of reading both kinds of books giving some reasons why reading books for pleasure and academic purposes is equally important. Firstly, reading academic books could bring some benefits for the child. They can acquire knowledge as well as a wide vocabulary range. This will make them develop their communication skills in a proper way. However, this is not the only type of book they should read as they might lack some other skills which they could develop. This is why reading books for pleasure with other kinds of topics could give them some chance to improve in other areas such as creativity. Reading books with abstract topics could motivate them to start thinking for themselves and imagine things in a deeper way. Although, this is not the only area where they can improve. As I said before, their social skills can be affected as well. They will learn how to understand others in a better way and most important understand themselves through reading. Some romantic books for example could help them to understand what feelings they feel and how to manage them. They can also learn how to empathize with other people and interact better with them. Thus, they will be able to easily get into society. To conclude, children should read both, academic and non-academic books. This will help them to gain some facilities in both academic and social fields as well as boost their creativity. Doing this can lead to a generation whit excellent thinking and communication skills ready to succeed in nowadays society.