Shopping has become a favourite pastime for many young people. Why is this the case? Should they be encouraged to spend their free time in a better way?

Every generation has its peculiarities, including different preferences in the ways of spending their time after work and studies. Nowadays a lot of young people choose shopping as their best activity, this issue has some reasons for this. Body · 1 The first argument for shopping is a wide range of brands that nearly everyone can afford. It is quite easy to find something that you like and that suits you, as the quality of modern mass market products is high. What is more, shopping malls can be found in every town, to say nothing about big cities. These centers offer a lot of shops that can satisfy any taste. Now people do not have any problems with lack of beautiful clothes as they used to have in the USSR, for example. Last but not least, generation “Z” is obsessed with showing off and standing out. In their attempts to do that they buy bright and unusual clothes. Of course, it takes time to find something special, so, they need to spend their free time on shopping. Body · 2 I am inclined to think that it is up to a person whether to spend their time on shopping or on other activity. It might not be popularized to be obsessed with shopping, as it does not have a direct impact on important things such as career, family or spiritual aspects of life. But after all, every obsession is bad, so, everyone should find a right balance between careless and useful time spending. Still it is not the case that should be widely discussed.

To conclude, an opportunity to buy something that you want and willingness to attract others may be the reasons of the popularity of shopping among young people. It is just a tendency that people do not need to pay too much attention to.