increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective?

Some folks believe that the issues of traffic congestion and environmental pollution can be overcome by raising the cost of fuel.I totally disagree with this arguement because vehicle owners are generally rich people and can manage the finances.These problems can however, be addressed by improving the road infrastructure, limiting private cars and using alternate sources of energy. To begin with, the increasing number of automobiles on roads is attributed to increased buying power of masses.If they can afford luxurious cars, than the price of petrol will not be a problem for them.These days, every household has two to three vehicles of their own which are a source of traffic jams and polluted air.In Lahore city, the worst smog was seen last year due to fossil fuel consumption mostly due to the exhaust of gas-guzzlers. Moreover, the increase in tax on lubricants will add to the woes of the working class travelling on public transport who are already facing financial crisis. For instance, most of the daily wagers on the the outskirts of karachi moving to city centre have average daily earnings of 800 rupees.Charging them extra fare means they will be more hard-pressed in feeding their families. On the other hand, there are many viable options to address the challenges. Firstly, the governments should invest more on the replacements of fossil fuels. By introducing electrical cars and solar- powered batteries for running these machines can help a great deal in reducing the polluted atmosphere.In Japan,officials are planning to introduce robotic appliances next year on the express ways for achieving the purpose of clean environment. Secondly, better road networks can lessen the bottle-necks on various lanes.To illustrate this, when the punjab highway authority in Pakistan constructed overhead bridges and U-turns at regular distances in 2020, the congestion on highways was reduced significantly. Finally, restricting the personal automobiles in downtown areas can decrease the exhaust fumes.Orange train in the city of Lahore has been very instrumental to lessen the adverse effects of fuel combustion on the climate. In conclusion, I think that in order to tackle the worries of the pollution and the rush on streets, renewable energy and improved transport system should be the focus of countries rather than embarking on the vicious cycle of raising the petrol prices.