Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. Which solution is better?

Rapid urbanisation has been a global phenomenon for a long, and this has caused a serious concern over housing expansion. Some cities have tackled this dilemma by constructing high-rise buildings whereas expanding the area for housing is what other cities adopt. This essay will discuss both perspectives on city development to evaluate which trend is better. On the one hand, establishing taller buildings can bring about certain benefits in terms of saving natural resources. Perhaps the best example of this would be Manhattan in New york city where a multitude of tall apartments has been constructed to meet the demand for decent accommodations for its citizens. This policy was introduced in 2019 when New York witnessed a considerable increase in its population and it perfectly solved the problem of land scarcity. I would argue that investing in constructing high-rise buildings is an effective long-term measure to cope with housing issues. On the other hand, building housing on a wider area of land can certainly offer a few merits. The obvious one is that people are provided with wider space which means that they can be able to relish better privacy and design their own houses in accordance with their preferences. Therefore, people will be able to invite their friends over to throw a party without disturbing their neighbours and they can have their own botanical gardens. Los Angeles, for instance, has been expanded this way, providing better living standards for its people. While expanding the area for housing has a few advantages, I believe that this solution is less effective than the aforementioned one in the long run. In conclusion, while both solutions prove their worth depends on the specific circumstances of different cities, establishing taller buildings is much better than expanding the area for housing in terms of sustainable city development.