Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Smartphones seem to be an essential product and are popularly used among children, some people believe these digital devices are harmful to their personal development, and others believe it is beneficial for the youngest to connect with the Internet. This essay will discuss both views and the reasons caused this situation, and my opinions in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the significant reason for raising the use of these technological devices is the advancement of technology and development in digital-based. In other words, Smartphones improvise all the functions such as entertainment, communication and searching the resources by using the internet, which is incomparable to other objects or activities, and is a significant advantages of smartphones. For instance, research in Hong Kong reveals that more than one- third of interviewees spend more than five hours using smartphones because of convenience and accessibility, allowing the user uses in any purposes. However, some people believe these devices significantly harm children's development. To illustrate, the entertainment provided on the internet, such as videos and games, potentially causes addiction if there is no monitoring of the contents and the time of use. Moreover, children might not have the ability to identify the proper things, which may lead them into traps, such as privacy breaches or internet fraud. For example, in China, authorities revealed a case where a teenager who was addicted to playing mobile phone games and forced their parents to give him a credit card to purchase virtual goods in games, which leads to bankruptcy and personal information being breached simultaneously. In conclusion, smartphones are becoming popular among children because of their functions and entertainment. However, it potentially causes harmful effects on children ’s development. Personally, I believe widely use of mobile phones among children is a negative development.