Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, traffic congestion has increased and become a serious problem in many nations and cities. While some people believe that government need to invest funds in constructing train and subway lines to decline traffic jam, I concur with those who argue that this problem could be tackled by expanding and improving the road system. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think having more train and subway lines built could solve traffic jam problems. One reason is that since such public transport usually runs quickly than cars, people tend to prioritise these means of transport to travel. This may reduce pressure on the existing roads. Another reason is that it is sometimes impossible to extend further roads, especially in large cities, because land is rarely available to enable such development to take place. A metro network, built underground would therefore be a more practical option and it has proved popular in main cities across the world. On the other hand, there are strong reasons to think that the extension and construction of new and wider roads will alleviate traffic congestion. The existing roads are obviously inadequate to provide the space for the increasing number of cars, particularly in city centres. In big cities, people live on the outskirts and commute to work by their own car. This may lead to the growing volume of traffic in both inside and outside the cities, so new road routes must be created to cope with traffic jam. Furthermore, as the more network of roads is built, people are able to drive on an alternative way to avoid crowd when traffic congestion occurs. In conclusion, although constructing train and subway lines can decrease traffic jams, it seems to me that extending the size of roads is a better solution