Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

It is argued that money should be spent on developing roads and motorways rather than on public transport systems. From my perspective, both roads and public transport systems play a vital role in modern society, and therefore should be equally invested on. On the one hand, public transport helps reduce pollution. In fact, by switching from personal vehicles to underground or buses, the number of cars operating on roads declines significantly. This leads to a decrease in the number of emissions into the atmosphere and then improves air quality. Furthermore, buses and subways are great choices for people who do not have private vehicles such as motorbikes or cars. For instance, many large European cities such as Paris or London have extremely complete public transportation systems, which help them to limit the number of personal vehicles on the traffic network. On the other hand, better road quality increases the level of safety. For example, in many cities in Vietnam, the number of road accidents is ever-increasing due to the condition of the road’s surface. This is clear evidence that the government should spend money improving the quality of road systems in order to ensure the safety of people. Additionally, building wider roads and more motorways in big cities like Ho Chi Minh and Ha Noi, where traffic jam is still a major problem, will help to increase the space for a large number of vehicles, hence reducing pressure on the city’s main roads as well as congestion. In conclusion, I strongly believe that government should spend money on not only roads but also on public transport systems.