Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that older people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

There are those who believe that it is best for grandparents to remain in the care of their immediate families. Others, on the other hand, are of the opinion that elderly people should live on their own. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both sides of this issue from their respective points of view. On the one hand, those who are in favour of the concept of elderly people continuing to live with their families point to the increased level of emotional and physical support that the individual may receive. The grandchildren and children of the grandparents can provide additional care for them, which will help to improve their health on both the physical and mental fronts. For instance, if they become ill, their children will always be by their side to tend to them and encourage them, ensuring that they will continue to improve their health and level of happiness even as they get older. On the other hand, some people have a tendency to encourage older people to live on their own. They are required to spend less time taking care of their grandchildren if they live on their own and more time focusing on themselves. They have the opportunity to interact with other seniors and to participate in programmes geared specifically toward seniors (dancing or growing plants). Keeping up with those kinds of activities is beneficial for people of a certain age. In conclusion, we should respect the choices that people of advanced age make. In my opinion, it's best for elderly people to stay close to their families as they get older.