Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teachign sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is currently debatable whether giving services for the neighborhood free of charge is mandatory for high-schoolers or not. In this essay, the reason why this measure should be carried out will be explored while clarifying my own opinion to support this belief. First of all, it cannot be denied that this activity can enlarge our social circles and hence, can improve our communication which is now considered as an essential skill. This means that if we do outdoor activities such as giving guidance to tourists, helping or accompanying elder people, our social skills will undoubtedly make progress as we have to interact with other people. For instance, despite being introverted, if one is made to do community services, he will at least know how to behave well and formally, which are versatile life skills at the workplace, although his personality has not changed. Due to this fact, it is credible and worthwhile. Secondly, we can enjoy a warm glow inside our hearts which can only be gained from helping others intentionally. In other words, hypothetically speaking, this behavior can not only act like a motivation to the helper but also make the person, who needs help, feel happy. For instance, if someone helps elder people cross the road or accompanies them, that day will be another peaceful day for them as well as their family and thus, this happiness will spread like a virus around the world simply because of this manner. Therefore, it is a win-win but many people are still underestimating those benefits. In conclusion, I personally believe that free-of-charge community services ought to be acknowledged as an essential part of high school activities as it can be of great help to students both at present and in the future.