More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefits more from this, the community or these young people?

Nowadays, it can be seen that the number of young people who live in a developed country has been involved in unpaid work in a developing country to build a house or teach student. There are at least 2 reasons for this trend and both the youngers and communities are getting the benefits. To begin with, the first reason why young adults prefer to do this trend is they can get a lot of friends. It is a necessity for people nowadays to keep in touch with other people, and it will bring benefits for themselves in the future,especially in the work field. Secondly, doing unpaid work will make young adults realise how important knowledge is in the future for both country and themselves. In addition, the youngers can get new insight from this trend, not only about the academic sector but also about culture and others. To take an example, UK's government has been doing this trend for a couple of years in order to increase their youngster's knowledge and insight. This trend is really beneficial for both young adults and poor countries. From the volunteer side, the people who involve in this trend are able to bring many insights from the country where they are duty, and it can be shared with others in their country. As a result, people from other countries can learn new things from the volunteer. While from the communities, more people they have on their side, means the community is able to do more activities such as teaching and caring. Thus, this trend carries many advantages for both sides. To sum up, there are at least 2 main reasons why people from wealthy countries do this trend. Being in a relationship with others and learning new aspects are reasons. Instead only the younger obtain an advantage, the poor country receives many beneficial things such as their country are more known by others and they can do many activities because of many people involved in this trend.