Some think schools should rewards students who have the best academic results, while others think it’s more important to reward students who achieve other types of success (such as sports, music, and good behavior). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Schools occupy an important place in student's life, making the youth spend many hours daily in classrooms. While some schools choose to reward hard work and students who achieve high academic results, others think that it's more important to reward the ones who prioritize extra-curricular activities such as sports or music. This essay will discuss both views. On one hand, some institutes choose to prioritize studies, making subjects such as maths, physics and biology fundamental. Obviously, this has a positive impact on some students as it makes them more motivated to achieve higher grades, and it's especially advantageous for smarter students with potentially a higher intelligence quotient. To illustrate that, well-known universities, such as Harvard or Cambridge, offer special scholarships for high school graduates who achieve the best academic results during their curriculum. On the other hand, it is just as important to prioritize other types of success besides studies. Sports, music and other extra-curricular activities should also occupy an important part of school planning. Many undergraduates are blessed with particular talents, which makes them achieve great results. Some scholarships, for example, are dedicated to students who are particularly talented in physical activities such as swimming or soccer, making them eligible for higher status, for instance playing in national teams. To summarize, I personally think that both sides should be equal and balanced. While some undergraduates are elites in academic studies, others shine in sports or music, making all of them worth rewarding for the sake of keeping their motivation up and therefore pushing them to their full potential.