Nowadays, children spend too much time watching TV and playing computer games. Some people believe this has negative effects on children's mental abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many kids are keen on video games and TV programs. While these activities are helpful for offspring's mental development to some extent, in my opinion, I think the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, I recognize that there are some advantages for offspring watching TV or playing digital games. First of all, some schedules and documentaries, such as the Discovery Channel, as well as educational cartoons, are extremely useful for minors to gain various knowledge and skills. Compared with classes in school, this is a more acceptable way for children. Furthermore, regarding computer games, many of them require players have abilities to figure out solutions to their problems in them. Meanwhile, many actions in digital games also need to be finished in a short time, many parents consider this as a means to train the response speed of their offspring. Lastly, some online games are expected to be played by a team of people, in which children can learn how to cooperate with others. On the other hand, although there are some benefits for children to play video games or watch TV, it definitely can cause vitally negative consequences if they spend too much time on them. Firstly, most children usually have no idea about how to schedule their time, which means that they are prone to get addicted to TV schedules or video games, without the guard of their parents. For instance, due to the lack of care and attention of the parents, there are many children who get addicted to online games and are not able to concentrate on other activities, this has become a big social problem in China. Moreover, many games or TV schedules include violent and sexual content, which are obviously not suitable for teenagers and it is extremely hard for parents to filter them all the time. this may result in some vital problems, such as crimes. In conclusion, although it is useful for children to watch TV schedules or play computer games, parents should strictly control the time they spend on these activities., or it would cause many problems. In other words, I think the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.