Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years sky rocket sales of products are achieved by mostly enormous advertising campaigns, while acknowledgment of essential human needs is believed to be inferior and insignificant. In my opinion, I do think advertising contributes more to sales, rather than meeting basic human expectations. Reasons for supporting this opinion are that ad campaigns are insightful about their audience and they emphasize on selling desired lifestyle of their consumers. First reason why, in my opinion, advertising prevails over mandatory human needs is because advertising has exceled at understanding and appealing to their target audience. Surveys and research often determine the scope of the expectations and understand what key information needs to be emphasized on the most. It is evident from the yearly spending reports of large companies that show enormous amount of money corporations spend on advertising and PR department and testing their products on real users. Secondly, advertising appeals to the desired lifestyle of consumers, what is more powerful than tacking basic human needs. In many spheres like real estate, for example, it is clear that they don’t just sell the property itself. Instead, they will demonstrate aspects of your daily future daily life that include how you will be living, what will your potential surroundings be and what infrastructure facilities will be accessible for you. In conclusion, advertising, in my opinion, appears to be a more powerful tool for sales in comparison to addressing essential human needs. Insight into the target audience and appealing to dream desires of consumers are key reasons in support of my opinion.